Maria H wrote a review
September 2018

Beautiful place
Excellent, warm hosts, immaculate,excellent food! View is espectacular Lugano lake. I am so happy to have found this beautiful place on my road trip. Thanks Hotel and restaurant Stampa! , thanks trip advisor!

Data of the stay: September 2018

Alex T wrote a review
May 2018

Fantastic, friendly, just re-opened after beautiful refurbishment
This weekend was our 10th stay in this wonderful, friendly, family-run hotel & restaurant (yes, 10th stay!!! This should in itself show how fantastic we think this place is. A place to return time after time again, with no disappointments for us). Our visits have been fantastic every single time we went, but they have just re-opened after major renovations of the entire hotel & restaurant, which have raised the standard even further, without taking away the friendly and cosy atmosphere. This is the reason we love it so much and would recommend it to anyone planning a trip to northern Italy:
The family who run this place are very friendly, always making us feel very welcome. They mostly speak only Italian, although now they have a hotel receptionist, who also speaks very good English. We don’t speak much Italian but always want to try out our little bit of Italian and learn more, as they are always very friendly and appreciative of this too. They always feel like friends to us!
The hotel rooms have been renovated beautifully. We have always stayed in one of their double rooms with a lake view. Now they are modern and light, with big windows overlooking beautiful lake Lugano and the surrounding lush, forested hills and bigger mountains in the distance. With the beautiful, modern simplicity, they have managed to keep the focus on the stunning surroundings which we enjoyed once again to the full, this weekend.
We stayed one night and enjoyed the breakfast they offer in the morning, overlooking lake Lugano. They have recently made huge changes to the breakfast spread too. A wonderful way to start the day: fresh croissants, pancakes, cakes, yoghurt with cereals/nuts, bread with ham and cheese, juices, coffees and other hot drinks. Everything we could wish for.
The breakfast as well as dinner are served in a large dining room (or terrace in warm weather), refurbishments of which they have also recently finished. The dining room is light and airy, with some modern, colourful touches on the walls as well as in the furnishings. Beautiful, stylish but still cosy. The dining room is separated into two parts. One larger and one smaller part. We sat in the smaller section, which was quieter and very cosy, but we liked the sound of other guests around us enjoying their meals too. The dining room also has a beautiful bar area with colourful seating, where you can enjoy a drink.
The best really is the food they serve here at dinner. Just wow! Their Pizzas are just fantastic (at around 10-12 euros). Some of the best pizzas we have ever eaten are served here. Thin, with a crispy edge and beautiful toppings. Stunning and delicious! However, do not overlook all the other delicious food on their menu. We have tasted their antipasti dishes at around 14 euros and pasta dishes at 12-14 euros. …we were never disappointed. Everything has always been cooked and seasoned to perfection! And believe me, we cook a lot at home ourselves and have been to many restaurants before. This time we had bread crumb and herb coated prawns as well as smoked sword fish ham salad for antipasti. Then we had crab and curry Taglietelle (just perfect!) as well as some gnocchi in a saffron sauce, topped with ham (to die for!). Finally, we just could not resist it and had to order a pizza to share. They are always willing to serve you food to share, dividing it even on two separate plates. We always really appreciate this, as then we can sample more of their food  They also serve a great selection of wines by the glass (at around 5-7 euros per glass) as well as whole bottles.
Our summary of the above is: we will return time after time again, whenever we can. We hope that our review will also entice other people to come and stay at the hotel and enjoy the restaurant. Thank you once more for a wonderful stay, Ristorante Stampa!

Data of the stay: May 2018

Vixstix27 wrote a review
September 2018

Brilliant! Dinner for 8, returned 3 times its so good.
Wow!! Absolutely amazing restaurant. We stayed in the village locally, in Via Viconago, so it was an easy 2 min walk. Even though we hadn't made a reservation they made place for us at a table with spectacular views of the mountains and lakes. Although its so well located its hard to get a bad view. Staff were super friendly except for the one young gentleman who was a bit abrupt and rude, but it was made up for by all the lovely ladies who are super helpful and just lovely. The ladies know how to look after the clients. You always know its a good restaurant when its filled with the locals.
The food was beyond exceptional, pizza to die for and the gnocchi is out of this world. Steak and fish done to perfection, and a fabulous bottle of wine from the region, Trention Nosiola... Tiramisu was amazing... I didn't try it but rest of family raved about it and had it all of the 3 times we returned to Stampa. They even had soya mild for my Cafe latte.
If you are a cyclist this is a great place to stay as they is amazing cycling route around the area with plenty of hill training and coming back to good food and friendly service is worth while. Definitely worth a visit if you are in the area.

Data of the stay: September 2018

Read the other reviews on Tripadvisor.it
Robert - December 2018
EXCEPTIONAL

Amazing views and pleasant staff.

Silke - August 2018
EXCEPTIONAL

Absolutely stunning view of lake and mountains and great food in restaurant

Dave - 26 August 2018
The best views in italy

The hotel is very modern and very clean. The food is amazing, the staff are extremely friendly and helpful, the view from the terrace restaurant is nothing short of breath taking. This should be a 4 or 5 star hotel. Also very good value for money. We will visit again soon.

Nothing. No complaints at all.

Jacky - 26 august 2018
LOVELY AREA

This is our second stay here and the place as been transformed since last year. The place is much more modern and there is air-con in the room, which I don’t remember there being before. The restaurant has also been updated. Food was great but a bit expensive. Friendly staff. Stunning views.

Read the other reviews on Booking.com

Download the App

available for: